UQ students to forge links in Indo-Pacific as New Colombo Plan Scholars

7 December 2020

Four exceptional University of Queensland undergraduates are ready to develop lifelong connections with the Indo-Pacific after being named 2021 New Colombo Plan (NCP) Scholars.

UQ’s Maxwell Broad, James Cafferky, Joshua Grice, and Adele Greedy-Vogel were named as recipients of the prestigious scholarship via an online ceremony held at Parliament House in Canberra on 4 December 2020. 

UQ's NCP Scholars (L-R) Maxwell Broad, James Cafferky, Joshua Grice, and Adele Greedy-Vogel

His Excellency Governor-General of Australia General David Hurley announced that these NCP Scholars will immerse themselves in language, internships and study in Japan, New Caledonia, Singapore, and Thailand; connecting academics with policymakers to make a positive impact on society, working in public health, promoting cooperation and development in the region, and improving social justice for Deaf people.

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement and Entrepreneurship) Dr Jessica Gallagher said the four UQ Scholars are perfect examples of future changemakers.

“These bright young students will engage deeply with the Indo-Pacific region building long-term, mutually beneficial relationships and partnerships.

“The Scholarship not only provides opportunities for Australian students to study in the region – it is also about changing perceptions, developing skills, and inspiring excitement and energy among young Australians.

“These students are the Commonwealth’s investment in the next generation of leaders in business, politics, industry, research and innovation.

“Today’s NCP scholarship recipients will drive policy and the economy over the coming decades.” 

Since the NCP started in 2014, 33 UQ scholars have spent part of their academic life studying and interning across the Indo-Pacific region.

These prestigious and highly competitive scholarships support students to undertake an academic term at a university, intern and undertake language training in the Indo-Pacific for up to nineteen months. 

The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade has named 125 scholars, nine of whom are Indigenous Australian, from 38 Australian universities who will undertake scholarships in one of 26 eligible destination countries next year.


Media: Dr Jessica Gallagher, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement and Entrepreneurship), pvcgee@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3365 7366; Josepha Dietrich, j.dietrich@uq.edu.au, 0422 388 039.